Soul Flows


Femme Fatale
July 20, 2009, 11:52 pm
Filed under: Interviews, Music | Tags: , ,

MissJillz

SoulFlows has next up, DMV’s own, femcee Lola Maxwell. In a time and place where it seems females in rap&hip-hop are only to be seen and not heard, Lola Maxwell presents lines, rhymes, and flows to bring respect for women back to the forefront. Her lines shy away from sexual references and the focus most hip-hop artists put on clothes and money. Instead, her lines resurrect the love for life, style, relaxation, and how to be a classy woman. A couple must hears from Miss Maxwell are “Lucky Star featuring Demi & Charlei” (a SoulFlows personal favorite) and “Parlayin” both off Studio 1206. Enjoy the electric relaxation created from speakers meet Lola Maxwell’s flow.

If you had to describe yourself with one song lyric/verse, what would it be?

If I had to describe myself with one song lyric or verse it would have to be the first joint from Biggie’s “Juicy”:

“It was all a dream
I used to read Word Up magazine
Salt’n’Pepa and Heavy D up in the limousine
Hangin’ pictures on my wall
Every Saturday Rap Attack, Mr. Magic, Marley Marl
I let my tape rock ’til my tape popped
Smokin’ weed and bamboo, sippin’ on private stock
Way back, when I had the red and black lumberjack
With the hat to match
Remember Rappin’ Duke, duh-ha, duh-ha
You never thought that hip hop would take it this far
Now I’m in the limelight ’cause I rhyme tight
Time to get paid, blow up like the World Trade
Born sinner, the opposite of a winner
Remember when I used to eat sardines for dinner
Peace to Ron G, Brucey B, Kid Capri
Funkmaster Flex, Lovebug Starsky
I’m blowin’ up like you thought I would
Call the crib, same number same hood
It’s all good… “

I swear I wake up singing that song EVERYDAY! Hahaha.. now I didn’t particularly go through the same hardships as Biggie did nor am I hustling drugs or any of that. BUT! These lyrics remind me so much of what I used to do when I was younger. I would come home after school, prop myself up on this one stool we had in the kitchen by the counter. When we didn’t have a computer to look up lyrics or whatever I would play all of my favorite CDs on the lil boombox I had and constantly press stop, rewind, and play to make sure I got every line on point. I most definitely did that to most of Em’s (Eminem) jams because dude has crazy world play. I also used to take all these hip hop related magazines and tear the big fold out posters they would have of my favorite artists at the time and plaster them on my wall with some duck tape or stick pins. My mom would get after me about that, but I pretty much didn’t give a damn. It was MY room anyway. Just repeating these lyrics daily reminds me of how I got so much into music, mainly hip hop, and it just motivates me to keep going so I can finally say “Now I’m in the limelight ’cause I rhyme tight, Time to get paid, blow up like the World Trade!”

In your own words introduce Lola Maxwell to the stage.

*Ahem* (This is me on stage) “Wassup Ya’ll my name is Lola Maxwell hailing from the DMV, DC to be exact. For those of you who have heard of me you know how I flow, and to those of you who don’t prepare to be amazed. Hahaha.. no but seriously I got a good show for you guys. I’m not just another female rapper so PLEASE get that mindset out of your head right now. You’re definitely gonna enjoy yourself. Oh yeah and you guys can hit me up on myspace.com/missjillz, twitter.com/lolamaxwell.. let’s go!”

You would describe your style as…

My style is more chill and feel good than anything. I like to groove to my music, not necessariy mine but whatever or whoever I may be listening to. I like a lot of word play in my lyrics. Just like how you have many instruments accenting the other, that’s what my lyrics do for each word after the word.  I’m not so much about punch lines as much as making you think and expanding your vocabulary. There are so many main stream artists out here where I can guess their next word, you know, like boy rhymes with toy… simple shit (excuse my language) like that annoys me. When I first started jammin to Lupe and Nas it was like a breath of fresh air. Their songs made my mind wonder. That’s what I’m yearning to do for my listeners.

Not only lyrically, but your music as a whole is like no other female emcee. How do you continue to make that separation from you and other emcees?

I was politc’n with my homie Vaughn of M1 Platoon the other day on facebook chat, just talking about music and such. And he was tellin me how a lot of the dudes he roll with really like my sound because it sounds so hip hop. That made me extra happy because that meant I was going in the right direction.  In order to keep that separation from myself and other emcees is to keep doing what I’ve been doing this whole time and not getting swayed by what “Hollywood” is dishing out. My man Vaughn was like ‘keep reppin DC and reppin Jillz’. So that’s what I’m gonna keep doing. Music motivates and influences me, not all music though. Since hip hop nowadays isn’t as hot as it was a decade or two ago I mainly listen to what was played in the past. That’s when real hip hop truly existed. It made you “feel” and that’s all I’m tryna do.

What differs Miss Jillz from Lola Maxwell?

Pablo of the Connoisseur Magazine persuaded me to change my name, actually. And I like that he did that because it set me even more apart from other femcees. Just like with male rappers you have “Lil this” or “Lil that”, with female rappers you have “Miss this” and “Miss that”. So, I just wanted to do a total 360. I initially just started changing my name on Facebook, like everybody else does, to something with a fashion designer’s name in It like Vera Cavalli. That name was pretty cute actually haha. I got the name Lola from some Afrocentric website I was on. I just sat there and thought “that’s a pretty name, I like that”. So, I changed my name to Lola-something on Facebook. And then I switched to Lola Davenport. I got the Davenport from one of my favorite movies Idlewild. I then asked my best friends which they liked more; Davenport or Maxwell, and Maxwell won the vote so I stuck to that. And that/this name is more likely to stay in people’s mouths over Miss-whatever.

On Studio 1206, you have a joint “Parlayin”, sort of like speaking for all the femmes, a “kill them wack lines” type joint. How do you feel about the respect women get in the music industry? And how do you plan to change that?

Maaann, they be sleepin on the females! For real, it’s a lot of dope talent out here (and not just referring to myself haha) and I just feel like it’s not recognized enough as much as it should be. Half of these females I hear sound better than 50% of these males. As far as me changing that? Any chance I get to go on stage, even for like a quick sixteen, I’m gonna show what 80% of hip hop fans is missing out on. Female rappers are easily associated with either being sexy or trying to sound like a dude (take it how you want). I’m neither of those two and a most of those people that have heard any of my music realize that, so hopefully they’re spreading the word!!!

Now Studio 1206 was one of the illest mixtapes I’ve heard, I’d even say your lyricism is better than a lot of things some of these rappers and emcees put on their albums. &I know you had a joint before 1206, what are you bringing on Check the Rhyme?

“Check The Rhyme” is actually just something slight for the summer time… bangin out 12 tracks that the listeners are guaranteed to enjoy. I really want people to focus on my lyricism hence the name “check the rhyme”, which I coined from none other than A Tribe Called Quest’s “Check The Rhime”, because I try to get better and show my progression with every tape I put out. I don’t want give out the concept behind the tape because it’s stated on one of the tracks. So don’t forget to download it reader!! YES IM TALKING TO YOU!! Oh yeah and “From the Planet of the Greats…” mixtape is slated to drop SEPTEMBER 23, 2009 so look out for that as well!!

Describe to us what your dream song would be. [Who would make the beat? What would it be about? Who would it feature? What would it sound like?]

Oh my goodness I hate questions like this!!! Aaaahhhhh!! Hmmm… (thinking) my dream song would have the Apple Juice Kid on the beat (you can check out some of his joints on my Studio 1206 Mixtape), probably be about Hip Hop (like that joint Ludacris did with Nas & Jay Z) featuring some ill ass artists that I bang with, aaannndd it would sound like one of the greatest jams hip hop ever produced! Hahaha.. . you feel me?

What’s one thing you want your listeners to walk away with?

Lola Maxwell is NOT just another female mc. She is pure, real talent and these people need to wake up and realize that if not already done.

So to wrap it up, tell everybody where they can hear more from you.

Check it out! To all the readers you guys can check out my music/videos on myspace.com/missjillz, imeem.com/missjillz, vimeo.com/lolamaxwell, and reverbnation.com/lolamaxwell. To stay connected with me you can either hit me through twitter.com/lolamaxwell or lolamackswell@gmail.com. And most definitely check out my blog when you get a chance: lolamackswell.blogspot.com. I feature updates with my music as well as other artists that I am affiliated with. Aiigh? Cool!

Anything else you want to say before we close out?

Ay shouts out to my girl Princess for continuing to do her thing! Shouts to Bri Bri of MATunes.com, Rob of No Limitations, DJ Vic Mase, DJ Eskada, Intalek, Banquo, Charlei, Drique London, Carnage45, AKZionz, Yams of GrungeCake.com, The Connoisseur Magazine, my best friends Dari, Jai, and Bee, my favorite big sister Candilicious of Sweetness, and EVERYBODY I bang with… yall know who yall are.. PEACE!

:: photo credit :: PStheArtist ::
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

